Believe it or not, rolling through a stop sign is just as bad as completely failing to stop at one.
In New Jersey, this is one of those offenses that police officers are looking out for.
They think that you will simply pay the ticket and hope it goes away instead of fighting it.
However, in reality, pleading guilty to a stop sign ticket in NJ opens a Pandora’s box of consequences.
Stop Sign Ticket Basics
When you arrive at a stop sign, you are required to come to a complete stop within five feet of the nearest crosswalk or stop sign.
After doing that, you must yield the right of way to all traffic at that intersecting street.
Only after doing both of those can you legally continue driving.
Usually, a police officer will pull you over and issue you a stop sign ticket for one of two reasons.
Either you blew right through the stop sign or you did a “rolling stop” and kept going.
A “rolling stop” happens when you slow your vehicle down to the point where your car is just barely moving––it literally rolls only a few inches or feet. Then, you put your foot back on the accelerator, speed up, and continue on your way.
Both of these violate NJSA 39:4-144 because you do not come to a complete stop.
Remember, the next time you approach a stop sign, break completely and wait a second or two before accelerating again.
Penalties for Failing to Stop at a Stop Sign
According to the insurance calculator on InsuranceQuotes.com, a NJ stop sign ticket could raise your auto insurance by 35%.
Aside from that, a conviction will put 2 points on your driving record and you will be forced to pay a $50-$200 fine.
Depending on the circumstances––and how much you currently pay for car insurance––you could end up with a stained driving record and paying close to $1,000 for a routine stop sign ticket!
Be sure to hire an experienced traffic ticket lawyer in New Jersey who can save you from a costly insurance hike while getting you a reduction in your points and fine.
Who Should You Contact?
If you recently received a stop sign ticket in New Jersey (NJSA 39:4-144), contact Michael Botton of The Botton Law Firm today at 732-894-3686. Their team of trained NJ traffic ticket attorneys will fight to get your points and fines reduced while saving you from an astronomical auto insurance hike.