It happens to the best of us. The traffic light is yellow and you’re in a hurry. You think you can make it and just as you get to the intersection the light turns red.
After passing through the intersection, you realize that you just went through a red light.
Disobeying a traffic light in New Jersey is actually quite serious and a red light ticket can end up costing you a great deal.
Be sure to familiarize yourself with the consequences and hire an experienced NJ traffic ticket lawyer to help you fight the ticket.
Disobeying a Traffic Light (Red Light Ticket Basics)
Under New Jersey Law, a motorist is required to stop at a red light. Failing to do so––even if the traffic light just turned red––is grounds for a traffic ticket.
Even children are taught that green means go, yellow means slow down, and red means stop. However, these basic principles have been incorporated directly into New Jersey’s traffic laws.
Under NJSA 39:4-105:
- “A three-color system shall be used; red, amber and green. Green means permission for traffic to go, subject to the safety of others or the specific directions of an officer, official sign or special signal. Red means traffic to stop before entering the intersection or crosswalk and remain standing until green is shown alone, unless otherwise specifically directed to go by an officer, official sign or special signal. Amber, or yellow, when shown alone following green means traffic to stop before entering the intersection or nearest crosswalk, unless when the amber appears the vehicle or street car is so close to the intersection that with suitable brakes it cannot be stopped in safety. A distance of fifty feet from the intersection is considered a safe stopping distance for a speed of twenty miles per hour, and vehicles and street cars if within that distance when the amber appears alone, and which cannot be stopped with safety, may proceed across the intersection or make a right or left turn unless the turning movement is specifically limited.”
According to this, if you are 50 feet from the intersection and the light is yellow, you not only need to slow down, but you also are not even really allowed to speed up to go through the light.
Penalties for Running a Red Light in NJ
If you are caught running a red light in NJ and are issued a red light ticket, you could be facing points, fines, an insurance hike, and a stain on your driving record.
If you are convicted of running a red light in NJ, you face:
- 2 Points
- $50-$200 Fine
- 15 Days of Jail Time (Rarely Imposed)
Aside from that, your car insurance premium will skyrocket and that higher rate can last about to 4 years.
Consequently, even for a routine, red light ticket you could end up shelling out over $1,000 due to your auto insurance increase and fine alone.
Make sure to hire a quality traffic ticket lawyer who knows the ins and outs of plea negotiations and has the experience necessary to get your ticket reduced as much as possible.
Who Should You Contact?
If you recently received a red light ticket in New Jersey for disobeying a traffic light (NJSA 39:4-105), contact Michael Botton of The Botton Law Firm today at 732-894-3686. His team of NJ traffic ticket attorneys have years of experience fighting traffic tickets, negotiating with prosecutors, and reducing traffic violations.