Driving an overweight truck or commercial vehicle might seem like a good idea to get your cargo to its destination quicker, but––in the long run––doing so can cost you tremendously.
Aside from the fact that it’s illegal, you risk your livelihood, license, and thousands of dollars in out of pocket expenses.
Overweight tickets can be serious, so be sure to contact an experienced NJ traffic ticket attorney today to discuss your options.
Overweight Ticket Basics
Depending on the type of commercial vehicle you drive and what you regularly transport, New Jersey will determine the maximum weight you will be allowed to haul.
When determining how much your truck weighs, remember that “gross vehicle weight” (GVW) means the weight of your truck as well as its load and contents.
According to NJSA 39:3-20, if your vehicle exceeds the GVW you were permitted when you registered your commercial vehicle, you will be fined and penalized quite harshly.
The pertinent language of the statute reads:
- “e. It shall be unlawful for any vehicle or combination of vehicles registered under this act, having a gross weight, including load or contents, in excess of the gross weight provided on the registration certificate to be operated on the highways of this State.”
In addition to being penalized for having an overweight vehicle, you can also be ticketed for driving an overweight vehicle on an interstate bridge (i.e. violating NJSA 39:4-76).
If ticketed for both––which happens more often than you might think––the fines can add up rather quickly and your employer could seriously consider letting you go.
Penalties for Overweight Tickets
For the first 1,000 pounds your vehicle is overweight, you will be fined $500.
After that, for every 1,000 pounds you are over, you will be fined an additional $100.
For example, if you are driving a tractor trailer with a GVW restriction of 90,000 and are found to actually weigh 100,000 pounds, you will be fined $1,400.
If you are caught traveling over an interstate bridge in violation of NJSA 39:4-76, you will be fined $0.02 per pound for each pound of excess weight so long as the excess weight does not exceed 10,000 pounds.
However, if you are overweight by 10,000 pounds or more, you will be fined $0.03 per pound for each pound of excess weight.
Nevertheless, New Jersey set the minimum fine at $50.
Beyond the fines, excess weight tickets can make your life a nightmare at work. If convicted, your employer will look at you like a liability instead of an asset and may rethink keeping you on staff.
Ultimately, your job is on the line whenever you receive an overweight ticket in your commercial vehicle.
Who Should You Contact?
If you recently received a overweight ticket (excess weight ticket) in New Jersey, contact Michael Botton of The Botton Law Firm today at 732-894-3686. His team of traffic ticket attorneys have years of experience fighting tickets, negotiating with prosecutors, and reducing traffic violations.