New Jersey Traffic Lawyers

Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ | NJSA 39:4-129

Leaving the scene of an accident in NJ is no laughing matter.

Depending on whether personal injuries resulted or not will determine precisely what you are facing.

If personal injury occurred, leaving the scene of an accident (sometimes called failing to report an accident) will be a full-blown crime.

Even if personal injury did not occur, you will be facing points, a steep fine, possible jail time, a suspended license, and a serious insurance hike.

Leaving the Scene (Without Personal Injury)

If you were issued a traffic ticket for leaving the scene of an accident where vehicle damage was caused but no person was physically harmed––and this is the first time––you are facing:

  • 2 Points
  • $200-$400 Fine
  • Up to 30 Days Imprisonment
  • Suspension of Driving Privileges for 6 Months (Starting From Date of Conviction)

For all subsequent offenses, you face:

  • 2 Points
  • $400-$600 Fine
  • 30-90 Days Imprisonment
  • Suspension of Driving Privileges for 1 Year (Starting From Date of Conviction)

Leaving the Scene (With Personal Injury)

If personal injury or death resulted, the offense is upgraded to a crime.

Remember, a conviction will become a part of your criminal record and complicate admission to college and the possibility of getting hired for most jobs.

Aside from that, if convicted of leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury, you face:

  • 8 Points
  • $2,500-$5,000 Fine
  • Up to 180 Days Imprisonment
  • Suspension of Driving Privileges for 1 Year (Starting From Date of Conviction)

For all subsequent offenses, you face:

  • Permanent Forfeiture of Driver’s License
  • Up to 180 Days Imprisonment
  • $1,000-$2,000 Fine

As you can see, you have a lot to lose if you are convicted. Representing yourself on charges as serious as these is completely ill-advised.

Don’t gamble with this one: contact an experienced NJ traffic ticket attorney to help you avoid jail time, the loss of your license, and all the other negative consequences. It could be a game changer.

Who Should You Contact?

If you recently received a New Jersey traffic ticket for leaving the scene of an accident (NJSA 39:4-129), contact Michael Botton of The Botton Law Firm today at 732-894-3686. His team of NJ traffic ticket attorneys have years of experience fighting traffic tickets, negotiating with prosecutors, and reducing traffic violations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.