As a commercial driver’s license holder, you know that your livelihood depends on your ability to drive.
What you might not know is that your commercial drivers license (CDL) is at risk even for traffic offenses you commit in your private motor vehicle.
As a CDL driver, New Jersey holds you to a higher standard than many other motorists because of the size and dangerousness of the vehicle you are driving.
Consequently, if you receive a traffic ticket for a serious violation, you may lose much more than your ability to drive in NJ––you may lose your job.
CDL Offenses in New Jersey
The State of New Jersey punishes CDL drivers who commit “serious” offenses even while in non-commercial vehicles.
The following violations are considered serious:
- Speeding 15+ miles per hour over the posted limit
- Reckless driving
- Improper or erratic lane change
- Tailgating (following too closely)
- Any traffic offense that resulted in a fatal accident
If you are convicted of any 2 of these offenses within 3 years, your CDL will be suspended for 60 days.
For example, if you were convicted of speeding on the Garden State Parkway for going 16 over the limit and 2 1/2 years later got another speeding ticket for doing the same, your CDL will be suspended.
Similarly, if you are convicted of any 3 of these offenses within 3 years, your CDL will be suspended for 120 days.
Remember, a lot can happen in three years, and it is not that hard to find yourself in a particularly scary situation, especially when you spend so much time on the road.
Harsher Penalties for CDL Drivers
The penalties become even harsher if you were charged with:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Using a vehicle in the commission of a felony
If you are convicted of any of the above offenses, your CDL can be suspended for an entire year! (However, your regular, private license might be suspended for less time.)
Also, your blood alcohol content (BAC) reading from the breathalyzer only needs to be 0.04% before you are charged with DUI as a CDL holder (instead of 0.08%).
If you are convicted a second time for any of the above offenses, you will permanently lose your CDL.
Ultimately, there is no doubt that a lot is at stake if you get a NJ traffic ticket as a CDL holder.
The traffic ticket lawyers at The Botton Law Firm have years of experience handling traffic ticket cases, especially CDL violations.
We will walk you through each step of the process and fight to make sure that you get the results you are looking for.
Who Should You Contact?
If you recently received a traffic ticket in New Jersey and you are a CDL holder, contact Michael Botton of The Botton Law Firm today at 732-894-3686. His team of traffic ticket attorneys will fight for you to keep your CDL and livelihood while also helping you avoid points, high fines, insurance hikes.